Elaboration of Assessment Standards for Quality Assurance

This document presents the final version of the assessment standards that has been produced in collaboration between ISIS CIuffelli and EGInA and tested with the implementation of short courses carried out at national level due to the COVID-19 Pandemic. The assessment standards represent the third milestone of the project and have been piloted in the VET centres which has offered the work-based learning of students.

The EU Quality Assurance in vocational education and training is a tool based on the 2009 Recommendation of the European Parliament and Council. The Recommendation invites Member States to use a series of indicative descriptors and indicators to support and develop their VET systems. The tool provides guidance on how to develop a quality assurance system and contains examples of different approaches used by Member States. Currently VET providers are using many different approaches to quality assurance. Some of these are in line with existing national or international quality assurance systems. Others have been designed to meet the VET provider’s own circumstances. EQAVET is an approach to quality assurance or a reference framework for VET which has been agreed by Member States.

EQAVET offers VET providers a straightforward way to monitor and improve the quality of their provision. It is based on the four-stage cycle of planning, implementation, evaluation and review which is at the heart of many other quality assurance approaches. Introducing quality assurance frameworks in work-based learning (WBL)2 has become a priority in recent years. Countries at the early stages of developing their quality assurance practices can learn from the experiences of others who have already implemented comparable quality approaches for WBL.

“The EQAVET network has identified a series of common themes, called building blocks, which have been used to establish and strengthen quality assurance processes in WBL, in
line with EQAVET (the European Quality Assurance Reference Framework or EQAVET Framework for short). The building blocks present an early analysis of approaches to quality assurance for WBL. The building blocks are designed to be useful and appropriate for the three main models of WBL:
-Apprenticeship schemes which combine training in companies and VET schools or
other education/training institutions;
– On-the-job training in companies which typically cover internships, work placements or traineeships which are a compulsory or optional element of VET programs leading to formal qualifications;
– Integration into a school-based program through on-site laboratories, workshops, kitchens, restaurants, junior or practice firms, simulations or real business/industry projects and assignments.

These six building blocks support and complement each other and build on the EQAVET indicative descriptors and indicators
1) Design work-based learning
2) Improve the quality
3) Respond to learners’ needs
4) Communicate
5) Train the staff
6) Assess the learners”

Provided BySEED - a European KA3 Erasmus+ Project
Type of providerEuropean project
Provided atonline
Learning opportunity typeOER
Home pagehttps://ec.europa.eu/programmes/erasmus-plus/project-result-content/1d91db48-d943-43e6-ad1c-10c895690b58/SEED_Del%204.2_Final%20version%20of%20the%20assessment%20standards.pdf
Admission procedureHigher Education enrolment
Price detailsFree
Type of credentialNone
Contact formwww.facebook.com/digitalseedproject

Back to search